

Values. Ethics. Advocacy.

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

CONTACT: Elizabeth Reiss Director of Communications South Dakota State Medical Association 605-336-1965 ereiss@sdsma.org

SDSMA Elects New Officers, Announces Award Recipients at Annual Conference

SIOUX FALLS – June 5, 2023 – **Denise S. Hanisch, MD**, of Centerville became the 142nd president of the South Dakota State Medical Association (SDSMA) during the organization's annual meeting on Friday in Sioux Falls. Outgoing president **Lucio N. Margallo II, MD** presented the presidential medallion to Dr. Hanisch at the association's Annual Awards & Scholarship Recognition dinner at the Hilton Garden Inn Downtown.

Dr. Hanisch has been an active member of the SDSMA since 1998. She is a family medicine physician and has served in leadership in healthcare for many years including positions on the SDSMA Board of Directors, SDSMA Policy Council, her local District Medical Society, and a member of the American Medical Association. She is also a graduate of the SDSMA Health Leadership Institute. Learn more about Dr. Hanisch here.

The Board of Directors members for 2023-24 are:

- President **Denise S. Hanisch, MD**
- President-Elect Jennifer J. Tinguely, MD, MPH
- Vice President Susan M. Anderson, MD
- Secretary-Treasurer **Keith A. Hansen, MD**
- Immediate Past President Lucio N. Margallo II, MD
- At-Large Director Mark C. Ballard, MD
- At-Large Director **Deepak M. Goyal, MD, MBA**
- At-Large Director **Benjamin D. Meyerink, MD**
- Policy Council Chair **Lisa B. Brown, MD**
- SDSMA Delegate to the American Medical Association Mary S. Carpenter, MD
- SDSMA Delegate to the American Medical Association Robert L. Allison, MD
- SDSMA Alternate Delegate to the American Medical Association Robert J. Summerer, DO

Learn more about Board of Directors members here.

SDSMA Award Recipients

The SDSMA presented awards to recipients at the Annual Awards & Scholarship Recognition dinner on Friday.

The SDSMA's Distinguished Service Award recognizes a physician or lay person who has been of outstanding service to the medical profession in South Dakota. This year the Distinguished Service Award recipient is Robert L. Allison, MD of Pierre.

- The Outstanding Young Physician Award was presented to Randall J. Waldner, MD of Redfield. This award is given to a young physician under 40 or within the first eight years of professional practice after residency and fellowship training. This physician is recognized for outstanding achievements, dedication and service to the community and the SDSMA at the local, state and national levels.
- The SDSMA's **Community Service Award** is presented each year to a physician who separates himself or herself through outstanding work in the area of community affairs. This year the award was given to **Daniel G. Petereit, MD** of Rapid City.
- Angela Kennecke, founder of Emily's Hope, received the SDSMA's Richard P. Holm, MD,
 Media Award. The Media Award recognizes those who have helped promote the medical field and medical issues.
- The **Young at Heart Award** is presented to a physician who has inspired young physicians as a mentor, role model and leader. This year's recipient is **Kenric D. Malmberg, MD** of Brookings.
- Kara L. Dahl, MD of Aberdeen received the SDSMA's Past President's Award. This award is presented each year to the immediate past president of the SDSMA in recognition of their many years of work and dedication to the SDSMA.
- Terry M. Marks, administrative services coordinator for the SDSMA, received the Special Presidential Award. This award is chosen by the SDSMA president to recognize the recipient's contributions to the medical profession.
- The Friend of Medicine Award was presented to Sen. Bryan Breitling. This award is given in recognition of contributions serving as an effective advocate for health care and the medical profession.
- The **COPIC Humanitarian Award** honors a physician for volunteer medical services and contributions to their community. **Matt Owens, MD** of Redfield is the recipient of this year's award. The award recognizes individuals who unassumingly volunteer outside the spectrum of their day-to-day lives. The recipient of the award designates a \$10,000 donation from COPIC to be provided to a health care-related 501(c)(3) organization in South Dakota. Dr. Owens has chosen Community Memorial Hospital/Clinic Foundation as the donation recipient.
- Nine physicians were recognized with the SDSMA's **50-Year Award** for medical practice in South Dakota. Physicians who received this award were: **Robert L. Ferrell, MD** of Spearfish; **Lawrence W. Finney, MD** of Winchester, Calif.; **Carroll D. Isburg, MD** of Yankton; **Earl D. Kemp, MD** of Sioux Falls; **Robert J. Meyer, Sr., MD** of Omaha; **David P. Munson, MD** of Sioux Falls; **Dennis D. Ries, MD** of Freeman; **Ronald M. Rossing, MD** of Bloomington, Minn.; and **Chung H. Tuan, MD** of Yankton. These physicians have been practicing medicine for a half-century and have contributed greatly to the medical profession.

The SDSMA serves physicians, residents and medical students who are dedicated to the health of South Dakotans. The mission of the SDSMA is to promote the art and science of medicine, protect and improve the health of the public, and advocate for the well-being of physicians and patients and the best environment for physicians to advance quality health care.

Learn more about the SDSMA at www.sdsma.org.