2022 SDSMA Awards

Pictured left to right: Laurie Landeen, MD; Tom Huber, MD; David Basel, MD; Benjamin Aaker, MD; Andrew Ellsworth, MD; and Mary Carpenter, MD

The SDSMA presented its 2022 awards to recipients at the annual banquet on June 3 at the Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Sioux Falls.

  • The SDSMA’s Distinguished Service Award recognizes a physician or lay person who has been of outstanding service to the medical profession in South Dakota. This year the Distinguished Service Award recipient is Tom J. Huber, MD.

  • The Outstanding Young Physician Award was presented to Mandi Greenway Bietz, MD. This award is given to a young physician under 40 or within the first eight years of professional practice after residency and fellowship training. This physician is recognized for outstanding achievements, dedication and service to the community and the SDSMA at the local, state and national levels.

  • The SDSMA’s Community Service Award is presented each year to a physician who separates himself or herself through outstanding work in the area of community affairs. This year the award was given to David Basel, MD.

  • The Prairie Docs – Andrew R. Ellsworth, MD; Kelly M. Evans-Hullinger, MD; Debra J. Johnston, MD and Jill Kruse, DO – received the SDSMA’s Richard P. Holm, MD, Media Award. The Richard P. Holm, MD, Media Award recognizes those who have helped promote the medical field and medical issues.

  • The Young at Heart Award is presented to a physician who has inspired young physicians as a mentor, role model and leader. This year’s recipient is Laurie B. Landeen, MD.

  • Benjamin C. Aaker, MD, received the SDSMA’s Past President’s Award. This award is presented each year to the immediate past president of the SDSMA in recognition of their many years of work and dedication to organized medicine.

  • Mary S. Carpenter, MD, received the Special Presidential Award. This award is chosen by the SDSMA president to recognize the recipient’s contributions to the medical profession.

  • The Friend of Medicine Award was presented to Blake Curd, MD.  This award is given in recognition of contributions serving as an effective advocate for health care and the medical profession.

  • The COPIC Humanitarian Award honors a physician for volunteer medical services and contributions to their community. Tim Irwin, MD, is the recipient of this year’s award. The award aims to recognize individuals who unassumingly volunteer outside the spectrum of their day-to-day lives. The recipient of the award designates a $10,000 donation from COPIC to be provided to a health care-related 501(c)(3) organization in South Dakota. Dr. Irwin has chosen Servant Hearts Clinic in Yankton as the donation recipient.

50-Year Awards

Six physicians were recognized with the SDSMA’s 50-Year Award for medical practice in South Dakota. These physicians have been practicing medicine for a half-century and have contributed greatly to the medical profession.

Frank Alvine, MD
Bernie H. P. Hanson, MD
Donald Kelley, MD
Tom Looby, MD
Mike Pekas, MD
John Sabow, MD

50-Year Award recipient Tom Looby, MD, with Young at Heart Award recipient Laurie Landeen, MD

South Dakota State Medical Association
2600 W 49th St Ste 100
Sioux Falls, SD 57105
Phone: 605.336.1965 | Fax: 605.274.3274

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software